



ANNOUNCEMENT OF SUCCESSFUL APPLICATIONS FOR SASAC DOCTORAL SCHOLARSHIPS IN 2018

The National Research Foundation (NRF) and the Department of Science and Technology (DST) are pleased to announce the provisional awards for the Systems Analysis Centre (SASAC) Doctoral Scholarships in 2018. The list of successful applications for Doctoral studies are listed in Table 1 below.

PLEASE NOTE:

- If your name appears in the table below, you have been successful in receiving an award for 2018.
- The NRF will forward award letters to successful candidates in January 2018.
- If your name does not appear in the table you have not been awarded a scholarship for 2018.
- Feedback to unsuccessful candidates will only be provided between January and March in 2018 due to processing of funding outcomes for various funding instruments.
- Once you have received the Conditions of grant (CoG), please read through the written agreement carefully, before accepting the award.
- All signed and completed documentation must be forwarded to the NRF.
- Funds will only be released once the completed documentation has been received by the NRF.
- Awards not taken up six (6) months after awarding will be automatically cancelled, unless otherwise approved by the NRF.

Table 1. Successful applicants for the 2018 Systems Analysis Centre (SASAC) Doctoral Scholarships

	Reference	Supervisor Name	Institution	Student name	Student Institution
1	SASAC170924263388	Prof K Liu	University of Fort Hare	Mrs Temitope Baiyegunhi	University of Fort Hare
2	SASAC170914262629	Dr KG Bokana	University of KwaZulu- Natal	Mr Ayodeji Ogunlesi	University of KwaZulu-Natal
3	SASAC170925263396	Dr E Bredenhand	University of the Free State	Mr Michel Mathurin Kamdem	University of the Free State
4	SASAC170929263881	Dr P Chaminuka	Agricultural Research Council, Vegetable	Mrs Manana Mamabolo	University of Pretoria





			and Ornamental Plant Institute		
5	SASAC170921263260	Dr MR Le Roux	Stellenbosch University	Mr Tonderai Mandizvidza	Stellenbosch University
6	SASAC170908262109	Dr GL Lagerwall	University of KwaZulu- Natal	Ms Phyllis Kwenda	University of KwaZulu-Natal
7	SASAC170907261977	Dr K NHUNDU	Agricultural Research Council	Miss Jabulile Zamokuhle Gwebu	University of Fort Hare
8	SASAC170926263432	Prof CO Odimegwu	University of the Witwatersrand	Mr Emmanuel Olamijuwon	University of the Witwatersrand
9	SASAC170927263501	Prof CO Odimegwu	University of the Witwatersrand	Miss Lungile Motsa	University of the Witwatersrand
10	SASAC170929263843	Dr SA Paphitis	Rhodes University	Mr Theodore Orlando Duxbury	Rhodes University
11	SASAC170927263559	Dr PJ Pieterse	Stellenbosch University	Mr Chuene Mashamaite	Stellenbosch University
12	SASAC170928263756	Prof SAC Aswani	Rhodes University	Mr Willem Malherbe	Rhodes University
13	SASAC170927263544	Prof DK DAS	Central University of Technology	Mrs Abigail Edem	Central University of Technology
14	SASAC170927263507	Dr MT Gebreslasie	University of KwaZulu- Natal	Mr Encho AMPADU	University of KwaZulu-Natal
15	SASAC170926263437	Prof J Laubscher	Tshwane University of Technology	Ms Marga Viljoen	Tshwane University of Technology
16	SASAC170917262848	Dr E Raffrenato	Stellenbosch University	Ms Sonya Malan	Stellenbosch University
17	SASAC170927263508	Prof PN RULE	Stellenbosch University	Ms Miné De Klerk	Stellenbosch University
18	SASAC170923263380	Dr IU UMEJESI	University of Fort Hare	Mr TAAFADZWA MAMBIRAVANA	University of Fort Hare
19	SASAC170914262644	Prof LG Underhill	University of Cape Town	Ms Peta Brom	University of Cape Town
20	SASAC170908262137	Dr T van der Westhuizen	University of KwaZulu- Natal	Mrs YEMISI ADELAKUN	University of KwaZulu-Natal
21	SASAC170926263457	Prof R Bansal	University of Pretoria	Mr Peter MAKOLO	University of Pretoria
22	SASAC170929263882	Prof R Bansal	University of Pretoria	Mr Tresor Nsilulu	University of Pretoria





23	SASAC170925263399	Dr AFA Chimphango	Stellenbosch University	Mr Richard Padi	Stellenbosch University
24	SASAC170929263896	Dr AFA Chimphango	Stellenbosch University	Ms Tariro Manhongo	Stellenbosch University
25	SASAC170920263229	Prof DK DAS	Central University of Technology	Mr Raphael Mahundi	Central University of Technology, Free State
26	SASAC170830261180	Prof C Fabricius	Nelson Mandela University	Mr Current Masunungure	Nelson Mandela University
27	SASAC170929263911	Prof RB Hall	University of the Western Cape	Ms Loveness Msofi	University of the Western Cape
28	SASAC170925263398	Prof STL Harrison	University of Cape Town	Mr Lee Mudenda	University of Cape Town
29	SASAC170929263819	Dr DVV Kallon	University of Johannesburg (Doornfontein Campus)	Mr Sandisiwe Thisani	University of Johannesburg
30	SASAC170926263475	Dr G Ziervogel	University of Cape Town	Ms Aurelia van Eeden	University of Cape Town

We congratulate all new 2018 awardees.